当前位置: > 新闻动态 >



  Guangdong Province


  A Glimpse of the Province


  Guangdong Province, whose shortened name is “Yue”, is a coastal province in southeast Mainland China, which borders Fujian Province in the east and Guizhou Province in the west. It is located on the 20°12' to 25°31' northern latitude, while its eastern longitude is between 109°45' to 117°20'. The whole province contains 21 municipalities, including 2 vice-provincial cities (Guangzhou and Shenzhen), and 19 locally administered ones.

  Tourism Resources

  Guangdong's advantageous geography and superior scenery attracts large numbers of tourists. The Zhaoqing Seven Star Crag combines the beauty of Guilin's karst hills and Hangzhou's west Lake. Guangdong's four most famous mountains are Danxia Mountain in the northern part of the province, Xiqiao Mountain in Nanhai City, Luofu Mountain in Boluo county, and Dinghu Mountain in Zhaoqing.

  Visitors to Guangzhou's Grand world Scenic Park can appreciate and see the world in miniature. Those who step into the Folk Culture Village will learn about the colorful customs of the different Chinese people. Guangdong's long coastline boasts many outstanding beaches and places to bathe and swim. Finally, the province has hot springs and resorts where people can relax and engage in leisure activities.

  Visitors can go to inner city and suburban Cantonese restaurants and teahouses to taste authentic Cantonese cuisine. They can go also to street corner stalls and fill up on tasty snacks to get an even better appreciation of Guangdong food. And visitors to the villages and towns on the Pearl River Delta (also called “Zhusanjiao”) will appreciate this area's unique “bridge, flowing water and resident” culture and directly experience Lingnan culture.

  Other distinctive folk customs and landmarks display the Lingnan life style. These include the chaoshan area's“Tower Burning” tradition, Puzhai's “Fire Dragon Dance” in Fengshun County, and the famous Southern Lion Dance. All of these things express the Cantonese people's deep love of life.

  Food Specialties

  Guangdong cuisine is called as Cantonese cuisine. It gradually absorbed the ingredients and cooking techniques of the Ming and Qing Dynasties, as well as Jing, Chuan and Lu cuisine. It is now one of the four most famous Chinese cuisines and people in Guangdong commonly say,(‘Eat in Guangzhou, taste in Chaozhou“. According to local regions and their different tastes, Cantonese cuisine consists Guangzhou, Chaozhou, and Dongjiang, or Hakka style food. Guangzhou cuisine is famous for its wide range of fine ingredients, excellent cooking techniques, and diversity and change. Chaozhou cuisine has a delicate elegance, while Hakka food (Dongjiang cuisine) is known for original taste and flavors. Classic Cantonese dishes include braise, pigeon, roast-suckling pig, plain chicken, marinated meat combinations, honey-stewed barbecued pork, burned goose, stewed mixed vegetables, and various country dishes.

  Guangdong's snacks mainly originated in the Lingnan culture and became famous after being handed down for many years as part of this culture's traditional flavor. Four different methods-steaming, pan-frying, frying, and boiling-are used to cook Guangdong snacks. Moreover, these snacks are divided into six categories. One is fried food made with rice, noodles and other grains that is full of different lavors.The second category consists of teamed foods mainly using rice and noodles, but ometimes other grains, and this material can be ether fermented or non-fermented. Rice noodles,which are made using both rice and flour, are mainly boiled. There are also many varieties of gruel, which is usually named after its ingredients and flavor. The third category consists of sweets, or different sorts of sweet snacks. These snacks do not include millet cakes and pudding and mainly use plant roots, stems and stalks, flowers and fruit, as well as eggs and milk. The final category might be called omnivorous”, as it uses a variety of ingredients, is cooked in diverse styles, and is very cheap. Particularly famous examples of this cuisine include the Tortilla lotus-paste steamed stuffed bun, water Chestnut Cake, Run Jiau Rice Cake, Honeycomb Dried Taro Chip, Crab Spawn Flattery Dumplings, Pellicle Steamed Fresh Shrimp Dumplings, Steamed dumplings with the dough gathered at the top, Rice noodles, Lotus Leaf Rice, Luxurious Pork Congee, and Tingzai Porridge.

  Recommended Attractions

  Danxia Mountain is located in the 54 kilometers northeast of Shaoguan, 9 kilometers from Renhua County. It is one of Guangdong's four famous mountains-the other three are Luofu, Xiqiao and Dinghu Mountains-and is 408 meters high. This scenic spot has three layers or zones. The upper zone provides visitors with views of Zhanglao, Hailuo and Baozhu peaks. The middle layer is mainly known for Biechuan Temple, while the mountain's lower zone has the Conch, Daming, Snow, YVanxiu, Fanzhao as well as Caoxuan Grottos.

  The Former Residence of Dr. Sun Yat-sen is a brick timberwork building with two stories and is a fusion of Chinese and western architectural styles. Its main structure was built with funds provided by Sun Yat-sen's older brother and its construction was overseen by Sun in 1892. It uses different valuable ultural objects and displays pictures to system at cally describe Mr. Sun's life experiences. Following 1996-1997, the residence has served as a national middle and primary school patriotic educational demonstration base. It has also been listed as a key protected cultural site by the State Council.

  Splendid China is one of China's richest, most vivid and complete miniature scenic and historical mages site. Splendid China covers an area of 30,000 square meters and its displays cover Chinese history, culture, art, ancient architecture and folk customs. Nearly 100 displays are arranged here according to a Chinese regional map. These depict famous scenery from China and its history in miniature. The Chinese Folk Culture Village, which covers an area of more than 200,000 square meters, located next to Splendid China. It is China's first large-scale cultural tourist attraction and displays different folk art, customs and folk architectures, including 25 villages of 22 nationalities built according to1:1 proportion. Some 25 villages and 56 different ethnological customs are showcased here, so village has been honored as the “China Folk museum”。

  广东省,简称粤,是中华人民共和国大陆南端的一个省份,陆域东起饶平县大埕镇的闽粤省西至廉江市高桥镇的粤桂省界,南自雷州半岛徐闻县的最南端,北达乐昌县上旗头村的最北省界;介于北纬20° 12'~ 25° 31’,东经109° 45' ~117°20‘之间。全省辖21个省辖市,其中副省级城市2个(广州、深圳),地级市1 9个。